Posts

Showing posts from April, 2020

Promo: The Du Lac Curse by Mary Anne Yarde

Image
Today, I’m delighted to host author friend, Mary Anne Yarde, whose 5th instalment in her bestselling Du Lac Chronicles  – The Du Lac Curse – is now available. 

Set in post-Arthurian times, in England and Brittany, the series is a must-read for fans of Game of Thrones and Gladiator. It’s full of action, adventure and especially intrigues!

Check it out!



The Du Lac Curse: Book 5 of The Du Lac Chronicles By Mary Anne Yarde
Blurb: 
God against Gods. King against King. Brother against Brother.
Mordred Pendragon had once said that the sons of Lancelot would eventually destroy each other, it seemed he was right all along.
Garren du Lac knew what the burning pyres meant in his brother’s kingdom — invasion. But who would dare to challenge King Alden of Cerniw for his throne? Only one man was daring enough, arrogant enough, to attempt such a feat — Budic du Lac, their eldest half-brother.
While Merton du Lac struggles to come to terms with the magnitude of Budic's crime, there is another threat, one …

Review: The King’s Retribution by Mercedes Rochelle

Image
Today, I have a treat for all our readers who love an extra sprinkling of history in their historical novels: The King’s Retribution by Mercedes Rochelle, the second novel in her Plantagenet Legacy series about King Richard II of England. 




If you’re interested in medieval English history, then you’ll find this series a treat! 

The first novel, A King Under Siege, ends with Richard gaining his maturity, having quashed a rebellion by several lords trying to retain their hold over him.  I would recommend you read the novels in order, to get the full picture, although the author adds plenty of reference in The King’s Retribution for you to follow what had gone on before. But as a curious reader, you may wish to read in chronological order.

The King’s Retribution shows Richard’s struggles as his reign continues. Uncertain who to trust, he erects a wall of those he considers trustworthy around him, but will they remain so? In order to understand his concerns, you need to look back at King Edwa…

Promo: Crusader's Path by Mary Ann Bernal

Image
Today, I’m delighted to share another treat for readers: historical fiction author Mary Ann Bernal’s new novel, Crusader’s Path! I’m very much looking forward to reading it.

In the meantime, find the blurb and an intriguing teaser from Crusader’s Path below. Enjoy!


Book Blurb:
From the sweeping hills of Argences to the port city of Cologne overlooking the River Rhine, Etienne and Avielle find themselves drawn by the need for redemption against the backdrop of the First Crusade.
Heeding the call of His Holiness, Urban II, to free the Holy Land from the infidel, Etienne follows Duke Robert of Normandy across the treacherous miles, braving sweltering heat and snow-covered mountain passes while en route to the Byzantine Empire.
Moved by Peter of Amiens’ charismatic rhetoric in the streets of the Holy Roman Empire, Avielle joins the humble army of pilgrims. Upon arrival in Mentz, the peasant Crusaders do the unthinkable, destroying the Jewish Community. Consumed with guilt, Avielle is determin…

Review: Redeeming the Reclusive Earl by Virginia Heath

Image
Who doesn’t yearn for a bit of escapism at the moment, with all the tragic news around us? And what better place to escape to than right into the world of romantic fiction!

And I know just the novel to escape with: Redeeming the Reclusive Earl by Virginia Heath!



I have enjoyed reading novels by Virginia Heath before, and Redeeming the Reclusive Earl was a fabulous read, as expected.  

The recluse in question is Max who has recently inherited the earldom and estate of Rivenhall. Scarred by an event in his past as a Navy Captain, he does not suffer trespassers on his grounds lightly. But when he encounters Effie, a young independent woman keen to make her name in the world of archaeology, digging holes in his property, it all becomes too much. He orders her to stop. But Effie isn’t a shy wallflower – she’s a woman who speaks her mind and shows her intelligence, which explains her unmarried status. And she is desperate to continue with her dig.

I must admit that I found Effie challenging at …